Executive Council Act is \$10,000 but at the present time and for some years past the Members of the various Cabinets have voluntarily surrendered \$2,000 annually, drawing \$8,000 each as their Ministerial salary.

17.—Lieutenant-Governors of Ontario, 1867-1949, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-49, and Present Ministry as at Aug. 1, 1949

Note.—See headnote to Table 13, p. 118.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission
Major-Gen. H. W. Stisted. W. P. Howland. John W. Crawford. D. A. Macdonald. John Beverly Robinson. Sir Alexander Campbell. Sir George A. Kirkpatrick. Sir Oliver Mowat. Sir William Mortimer Clark.	July 14, 1868 Nov. 5, 1873 May 18, 1875 June 30, 1880 Feb. 8, 1887 May 28, 1892 Nov. 18, 1897	Sir John M. Gibson LtCol. Sir John S. Hendrie Lionee H. Clarke Col. Henry Cockshutt William Donald Ross Col. Hereert Alexander Bruce Albert Matthews Ray Lawson	Sept. 10, 1921 Dec. 20, 1926 Oct. 25, 1932 Nov. 23, 1937

¹ Term extended November, 1942 to December, 1946.

Legislatures, 1934-491

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 19, 1934 Oct. 6, 1937 Aug. 4, 1943 June 4, 1945 June 7, 1948	19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly 22nd General Assembly 23rd General Assembly	2	Feb. 20, 1935. Dec. 1, 1937. Feb. 22, 1944. July 16, 1945. Feb. 10, 1949.	June 30, 1943 Mar. 24, 1945

¹ The Ministries from 1934-49 were: 11th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. M. F. Hepburn; 12th Ministry, sworn in Oct. 21, 1942, under the leadership of Hon. G. D. Conant; 13th Ministry, sworn in May 18, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. H. C. Nixon; 14th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 17, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. George A. Drew; 15th Ministry sworn in Oct. 19, 1948, under the leadership of Hon. Thomas L. Kennedy; 16th Ministry sworn in May 4, 1949, under the leadership of Hon. Leslie M. Frost.

Sixteenth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 7, 1948; 53 Progressive Conservatives, 14 Liberals, 21 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 2 Labour-Progressive.)

Office	Name	Date of Preser Appointment
Premier, President of the Council and Provincial Treasurer Minister of Agriculture Minister of Highways and Minister of Public Works Attorney General and Minister of Education Minister without portfolio Minister of Municipal Affairs Minister of Labour Minister of Health Provincial Secretary and Registrar Minister of Public Welfare Minister of Planning and Development Minister of Planning and Development Minister of Travel and Forests Minister of Mines Minister of Mines Minister of Reform Institutions	Hon. George H. Doucett	May 4, 1944 Aug. 17, 1945 Oct. 19, 1944 Aug. 17, 1945 Aug. 17, 1945 Aug. 17, 1945 Aug. 17, 1945 Jan. 7, 1946 Jan. 7, 1946 May 4, 1946 Nov. 28, 1946 May 4, 1944 May 4, 1944 July 15, 1946